Sunday, December 19, 2010

party dress

She's on her way to a birthday soiree, wearing a dress made out of camellia petals and a daisy hat.

Happy Birthday, Laura!

Saturday, December 11, 2010

baby bath

This is a scene from my book...the baby is having his bath in an eye cup, while his pet woolly bear looks on. You can see a few more pages at Photo by Bruce Wolf.

Tuesday, November 30, 2010

Wednesday, November 24, 2010


The mice are giving thanks for their roast walnut feast and I am giving thanks for my family, friends and followers.
Happy Holidays!

Tuesday, November 23, 2010

Behind the scenes

Here we are, shooting the photographs for "The House that Mouse Built". Bruce has an astounding set-up, and I got quite an education watching him light the scenes. I'm making yet another mouse micro-adjustment here while Bruce does his deep-breathing exercises (not really, he was incredibly patient, even when my dogs were sitting on his feet). Photo by Maddie Odenborg.

Monday, November 15, 2010

Sunday, November 14, 2010

Monday, November 8, 2010

I just wanted to thank everyone for your nice comments, and to let you know that I've finally finished all the scenes for my upcoming picture book! You can see a mock-up of the cover here:

hot tub

My sister gave me this beautiful cup and saucer for my birthday, and as you can see, we are getting a lot of use out of it. Thank you, Susy!

Saturday, September 18, 2010


She has returned from the big city with a book contract! It will published in March '11, and is called "The House that Mouse Built".

Tuesday, September 7, 2010


Hardworking mouse cartoonist,
inspired by my son Sam Alden. Check out his great work at

Saturday, August 14, 2010

more mouse grooming

I made this ewer out of an acorn modified with fimo and then painted. The stand is made from bent brass safety pins.

Sunday, July 18, 2010

Tuesday, July 6, 2010

Monday, July 5, 2010

Greetings from Mouseland!
I have been away from internet access for a few days and have returned to find my followers list tripled! So I need to thank Nikki for featuring me on her blog, and also thank all of my new followers who've left me so many encouraging comments.
To answer a common question; I am not selling the mice at this point but I am working to develop ways to show them. I am in talks now with a publisher to develop a children's book.
I will keep you posted!
Thanks, Maggie

Tuesday, May 18, 2010


This reminds me of some chilly English picnics I went on in my youth.
The grassy field in the picture is a furry green sweater.

Thursday, April 29, 2010

travelling mouse

This young mouse is going to NYC with her aunt Laura...she hopes to have a book contract in her little suitcase when she returns!

Her dress is made from fabric that came from my great- grandmother Jessie's quilt stash

Tuesday, April 27, 2010

mouse lit

illustrations were painted with three-hair brush and the aid of a magnifying glass

Wednesday, April 7, 2010


Closeup of a portrait in one of the houses, painted on a necklace pendant

Tuesday, March 30, 2010


Mama mouse with newborn, sitting in one of a pair of armchairs I made. Standard dollhouse miniatures don't work for mice because their proportions are so different from humans.

Thursday, March 25, 2010

pink girls

Six sisters, decked out in pink. These were for a children's story I was working on.

Tuesday, March 23, 2010

Sunday, March 21, 2010


She is reading under an ancestral portrait, painted on an earring. The window is a glass button and the fireplace is carved from basswood.


Lovesick mouse, pining on a pincushion

Wednesday, March 17, 2010


This reminds me of an old goat cart my father used to pull us in when we were little. The cart is made out of a candy box.

bath time

This is a scene outside the gourd house..I made this maybe eight years ago. The mice are somewhat more primitive than the ones I'm making now.